Michigan Eyelash Extension Certification Requirements 2022
July 15, 2022 by The Lash Professional.
Calling all Michiganders! Are you a lash-loving babe looking into how to become a lash tech in Michigan? If so, it’s time to learn how to acquire the appropriate certifications. In addition to creativity and a love for lashes, you’ll need these certifications if you want to land a good job. Figuring out the Michigan lash tech requirements should be your first step in the journey to becoming a lash specialist in 2022.
Do you need a license to do eyelash extensions in Michigan? Here’s everything you need to know about Michigan eyelash extension certification requirements in 2022.
How To Become a Lash Tech In Michigan
So, let’s get started. To become a lash tech in Michigan, you’ll need occupational licensing. What is this, you ask? Occupational licensing refers to the official credentials that you must acquire before professionally working in a certain industry.
Beauticians and estheticians who aspire to become lash techs in Michigan must make sure certain prerequisites are met before opening their businesses, or they may suffer from fines and other penalties. And no one wants to be stuck with hefty fines before they even start, right?
Lash-loving ladies who want to become technicians in Michigan should understand that requirements vary by state. This means that your credentials from California, New York, or elsewhere won’t be enough to practice in Michigan. Sorry!
Michigan law says the following about Limited Cosmetology License Requirements, which you’ll need to practice in most salons across the state:
- Lash technicians are referred to in Michigan law as Estheticians, who normally focuses on skincare services, but for this purpose, it includes eyelash applications
- Licensed estheticians must be at least 17 years old
- Licensed estheticians must “be of good moral character”
- This usually means you cannot have a criminal history or public history of gross moral wrongdoing
- Have an education equivalent to the completion of the ninth grade
- Have completed at least 400 hours of training in a licensed school of cosmetology
- OR worked as an apprentice for at least 6 months in a licensed cosmetology establishment where skincare services are rendered
- Have successfully passed an examination
By taking The Lash Professional’s online lash extension training courses, you can work toward gaining your 400 hours of training. Sign up today to learn from the best!
Michigan Lash Tech Requirements: Before Your Exam
Have you completed at least 400 hours of training in a licensed school? Or, have you worked as an apprentice for at least 6 months at a licensed cosmetology establishment? If so, you’re nearly ready to take the State of Michigan’s exam — but there are some other things to take care of, first.
Before you apply to take the formal exam, visit the State of Michigan’s MyLicense Website. There, you’ll need to actually apply for your license before taking the exam. You should see “cosmetology” in the left-hand column, highlighted in a picture below.
If you’re having trouble, there’s a downloadable and printable guide for applying for your license. The State of Michigan has also provided a video to the public for applying for general new licenses in the state.
You can find more background information about the examination process on how to become a lash tech in Michigan at the Michigan Board of Cosmetology's official webpage on the subject.
You’ll also want to have taken lash classes; lucky for you, we know where to find the best ones! The Lash Professional offers several online trainings and live courses for aspiring lash techs. Sign up today to get started!
Michigan Lash Tech Requirements: Taking Your Exam
Once Michigan reviews your age, hours of training, and other requirements to determine if you’re eligible to take the exam, you need to pay a fee. Remember that examination fees are nonrefundable in Michigan, so plan your financial payments and study sessions out ahead of time to make sure you pass.
It may cost you up to $167 to take the exam.
Remember: learning how to become a lash tech in Michigan takes time. If this is your first time registering, you must contact PSI (the company overseeing licensing exams for Michigan) and allow 2 weeks for processing your initial application.
Ready to schedule your eyelash exam? Visit psiexams.com at any time of the day, or schedule with a PSI registrar Monday-Friday between 7:30 AM-10:00 PM, at (855) 579-4635.
Make sure you bring proper identification to your exam to verify your identity! A state-issued driver’s license, U.S. passport, or state-issued ID card should suffice.
How To Become a Lash Tech In Michigan With Ease
So, do you need a license to do eyelash extensions in Michigan? As of 2022, you’ll need 400 hours of training (or 6 months as an apprentice) and must pass the Michigan Board of Cosmetology exam to secure your licensing. After that, you’re ready to begin beautifying your clients with lovely lash extensions!
Ready to master your Michigan lash tech requirements with ease? Take our online lash extension trainings to gain all the valuable beauty skills you need to become a licensed esthetician! The experts at The Lash Professional are ready to help you achieve the skills and certification you need to make it as a beauty expert in Michigan.
Featuring both online and live learning, The Lash Professional’s lash trainings will help you accumulate the 400 hours needed to take your exam. Sign up today to get started on your lashing journey!